Gates of Olympus is Pragmatic Play’s pay anywhere Greek mythology slot, released in February 2021 and still one of the most played games in UK demo libraries. Zeus hovers over a six reel, five row grid, wins tumble away, and random multiplier orbs are the main source of big results.
This review uses the provider’s own page for the core facts and names the independent source behind every other figure, including where those sources conflict. It is not a recommendation to play for money, and we have not played the game ourselves.
Gates of Olympus at a glance
| Detail | Figure |
|---|---|
| Provider | Pragmatic Play |
| Release | 25 February 2021 (OLBG, HazReviews) |
| Grid and pays | 6 reels, 5 rows, pay anywhere with 8 or more matching symbols |
| RTP | 96.50% (official page); 95.51% and 94.50% reported by third parties |
| Volatility | High to very high (not stated on the official page) |
| Max win | 5,000x the stake (third-party sources; not stated on the official page) |
| Free spins | 15 from 4 or more scatters (official page) |
| Reported hit frequency | 28.82% (OLBG), about 1 win every 3.47 spins |
| Reported free spins frequency | 1 in 448.12 spins (Aboutslots) |
| UK stake range | Reported minimum 20p, £2 maximum for ages 18 to 24, £5 maximum for over 25s |
How to play and stakes
There are no paylines. A win needs eight or more matching symbols anywhere on the grid, and winning symbols disappear so new ones can tumble in. The tumbling continues until no more wins land, and every tumble in the same spin counts towards one sequence.
Several independent sites report a minimum stake of 20p globally, and a maximum of 125 in other currencies. UK players are limited by the stake rules for online slots: £2 a spin for 18 to 24 year olds and £5 for those aged 25 and over. The optional ante bet adds 25% to the cost of each spin, so check how your casino applies the UK limit to it. Autoplay and quick spin are not available to UK players.
RTP: which figure applies
The official Pragmatic Play page lists 96.50%. OLBG and Gransino both report 95.51% and 94.50% as alternative settings, which are third-party reports and not on the provider page. Two outliers exist: Chipy lists 95.60%, and HeronBYTE lists 96.21% when the ante bet is on. One source says the RTP is unchanged with the ante bet, so the point is disputed, and we follow the provider’s single figure.
UK casinos can run different RTP settings, so the figure in the game’s information panel at your casino is the one that applies. OLBG notes that its demo runs the top RTP rate, which can differ from the real-money version.
Volatility
The official page does not label volatility. OLBG and Gransino rate it very high, scoring 5 out of 5, while Gameshub, American Casino Guide and LiveCasinoComparer call it high. These are the same direction with different labels. In practice it means long quiet stretches, with the large results coming from stacked multipliers.
Max win
The official page does not state a cap. OLBG, Gameshub, Gransino, HazReviews and others agree on 5,000x the stake. LiveCasinoComparer and Gransino add that the round ends immediately once the cap is reached.
The odds of reaching it are reported as 1 in 718,391 spins by OLBG and Gameshub, and 1 in 697,350 by Gransino. These disagree slightly and are not official.
At UK stakes, 5,000x converts to the following, using the 20p minimum most sources report:
| Stake | Max win at 5,000x |
|---|---|
| £0.20 (reported minimum) | £1,000 |
| £1 | £5,000 |
| £2 (18 to 24 limit) | £10,000 |
| £5 (over 25 limit) | £25,000 |
The £2 and £5 rows only apply to players within each age band’s limit.
Tumbles, multiplier orbs and free spins
The provider says multiplier symbols with values up to 500x can land in both the base game and free spins. During free spins, a multiplier symbol that lands on a winning spin has its value added to a running total, and that total is applied to the win. Sources agree that the total carries on through the round and does not reset between spins.
Four or more Zeus scatters trigger 15 free spins. OLBG, Aboutslots and Sweepskings add that three or more scatters during the round award 5 extra spins, with no stated limit. Two outliers disagree, with MrQ saying 3 and HeronBYTE saying 15, so we follow the majority and flag the point as third-party.
Scatters also pay on their own: 4 scatters pay 3x, 5 pay 5x and 6 pay 100x according to Aboutslots, Sweepskings and the Supabets guide.
Ante bet and bonus buy
The ante bet is described consistently as an extra 25% on each spin that doubles the chance of landing scatters, according to OLBG, Aboutslots and MrQ. A bonus buy at 100x the stake is reported by Gameshub, HeronBYTE and others. Pragmatic Play’s page does not mention either, and the buy is not offered by all UK casinos, so check the information panel.
Symbols and paytable
Symbols are gems at the low end and a chalice, ring, hourglass and crown at the high end. These are the payouts for 12 or more of a kind, from OLBG, MrQ and Aboutslots. The provider’s own page says wins can reach 50x.
| Symbol | 12 or more (x stake) |
|---|---|
| Blue gem | 2x |
| Green gem | 4x |
| Yellow gem | 5x |
| Purple gem | 8x |
| Red gem | 10x |
| Chalice | 12x |
| Ring | 15x |
| Hourglass | 25x |
| Crown | 50x |
Smaller clusters pay less. For example OLBG gives the crown as 10x for 8 to 9 symbols and 25x for 10 to 11.
Hit frequency and win rate
Pragmatic Play does not publish a hit frequency. OLBG lists 28.82%, equal to a win about every 3.47 spins, and Gameshub and HazReviews give the same figure. Aboutslots lists free spins at about 1 in 448.12 spins. These are reported by named independent sites, not official.
A winning spin can still pay less than the stake, so a hit frequency this high does not mean the game returns money often. SlotPal’s guide to hit rates in Big Bass and Eye of Horus does not cover this game, so we have nothing there to cross-check.
How it compares with other Pragmatic Play games
OLBG compares it to Sweet Bonanza: a lower cap of 5,000x but bigger multipliers that appear in the base game as well as free spins. The follow-up Gates of Olympus 1000 lifts the cap to 15,000x with multipliers up to 1,000x, so the original is the milder of the two.
Is it enjoyable? Our verdict
This section is based on mechanics, provider rules and independent data. We have not played the game.
The appeal is clear from the mechanics: frequent small tumbling wins keep the base game busy, and the free spins give a chance of stacking multipliers into a large result. The negatives are the same as the appeal. Wins are often below the stake, long dry runs are normal, and the cap is below newer sequels. One reviewer who tracked a 450 spin session reported a loss with a best result of 840x for the whole test, which is a single anecdote and not a measured figure.
Verdict: a strong fit for players who like multiplier driven, high volatility cluster play. A weak fit if you want steady returns or a very high cap.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Pay anywhere tumbling wins with no paylines to learn
- Multiplier orbs up to 500x in the base game and free spins
- Running multiplier total carries through free spins
- Provider-confirmed 96.50% RTP
Cons
- High volatility with long dry stretches
- Max win of 5,000x is below newer sequels
- Reported lower RTP settings of 95.51% and 94.50%
- Sources disagree on volatility label, max win odds and some bonus details
Gates of Olympus FAQ
What is the RTP of Gates of Olympus?
The official page gives 96.50%. Third-party sites also report 95.51% and 94.50% settings. UK casinos can run different RTP settings, so check the game information panel.
What is the max win?
Third-party sources agree on 5,000x the stake. At a £5 stake that is £25,000. The official page does not state it.
How many free spins do you get?
Four or more scatters trigger 15 free spins, according to the provider. Three or more scatters during the round add 5 spins, according to most third parties.
How do the multipliers work?
Multiplier symbols up to 500x can land during spins. In free spins, the values from winning spins are added to a running total that is applied to wins.
What does the ante bet do?
It adds 25% to each spin and roughly doubles the chance of landing the scatters, according to OLBG and others.
Is it high or very high volatility?
Sources split. OLBG rates it 5 out of 5, while others call it high. The official page does not label it.
What is the highest paying symbol?
The crown, at 50x the stake for 12 or more. Six scatters pay 100x.
What are the stake limits in the UK?
£2 a spin for ages 18 to 24 and £5 for ages 25 and over. Several sites report a 20p minimum.
How often does it hit?
OLBG lists a 28.82% hit frequency, or a win about every 3.47 spins. Free spins arrive about once in 448 spins per Aboutslots. These are not official figures.
Can I use autoplay in the UK?
No. UK rules removed autoplay and quick spin from online slots.
Is the bonus buy available in the UK?
We could not confirm. Third-party sites list a 100x buy, but availability differs by casino.
How we checked the figures
- Provider page (pragmaticplay.com, Gates of Olympus): RTP of 96.50%, pay anywhere 8 to 30 symbols, wins up to 50x, multipliers up to 500x, 15 free spins and the running multiplier.
- OLBG: RTP variants, volatility rating, hit frequency, max win odds, paytable and ante bet.
- Aboutslots, Sweepskings and Supabets guide: scatter pays, retrigger of 5 spins and free spins frequency.
- Gransino, Gameshub, HazReviews and LiveCasinoComparer: max win cap, alternative max win odds and volatility labels.
- MrQ, Chipy and HeronBYTE: used for the paytable and the outlier RTP, retrigger and ante figures we rejected.
- UK stake limits: UK Gambling Commission rules for online slots.
- Max win in pounds: our own arithmetic using the 5,000x figure.
- Not verified: an official max win statement, the UK minimum stake and the UK availability of the bonus buy.
18+ only. Gambling can be harmful. Set limits before you play and visit BeGambleAware.org for free support.