Legacy of Dead is Play’n GO’s follow up to Book of Dead, released on 2 January 2020. It keeps the 5 by 3 grid, the 10 paylines and the free spins with expanding symbols, then adds a twist: each retrigger picks another special expanding symbol, so several can be active at once.
This review covers the RTP versions, the very high volatility, the 5,000x maximum win in pounds at UK stakes, what is and is not published about hit frequency, and a conflict between sources over how many free spins the feature starts with. Our Book of Dead review is the natural comparison.
Legacy of Dead at a glance
| Detail | Figure |
|---|---|
| Provider | Play’n GO |
| Released | 2 January 2020 (Play’n GO game page) |
| Layout | 5 reels, 3 rows, 10 paylines, wins pay left to right |
| RTP | 96.58% at the highest setting, with four lower versions reported |
| Volatility | Very high (OLBG), described as very volatile by Casinomeister |
| Max win | 5,000x total stake (third party). Play’n GO quotes up to 250,000 coins |
| Stake range | 10p to £5 in the UK (£2 maximum for ages 18 to 24) |
| Hit frequency | Not officially published |
| Main feature | Free spins with a random special expanding symbol, adding more symbols on retriggers |
| Free spins on trigger | 8 or 10, depending on the source (see below) |
Overview
Legacy of Dead sits in the same family as Book of Dead, with an Egyptian tomb setting and a darker look. The mechanics are familiar. A scatter that doubles as a wild triggers the bonus, a symbol is picked at random to expand, and the aim is to land it on as many reels as possible.
The difference is how the feature builds. In Book of Dead one symbol expands for the whole round. In Legacy of Dead a retrigger adds another expanding symbol, so a long bonus can end up with several active at once. That raises both the ceiling on a good round and the dependence on getting one.
How to play and stakes
Wins need matching symbols on a payline from the leftmost reel. Three of a kind is required for the low symbols, while the higher symbols pay for two. OLBG notes that on older style releases you can choose between 1 and 10 paylines, though the full 10 is standard.
The game itself runs from 10p, and outside the UK up to £100 a spin. UK Gambling Commission rules cap slot stakes at £2 for players aged 18 to 24 and £5 for players aged 25 and over, so this review uses 10p, £1, £2 and £5 for its examples.
RTP and the versions you may meet
OLBG reports a top RTP of 96.58% and four lower versions: 94.51%, 91.51%, 87.56% and 84.55%. Casinomeister agrees on 96.58%. Play’n GO’s game page does not state an RTP, so the lower versions are third party reports rather than provider confirmed figures. OLBG adds that the top three settings are the ones UK players are most likely to meet, with the highest hard to find.
UK casinos can run different RTP settings, so the number in the game’s own help or paytable screen is the one that applies. The gap between 96.58% and 84.55% is large enough to change how long a balance lasts.
Volatility
OLBG classes Legacy of Dead as very high volatility. Casinomeister describes a very volatile base game and a high variance bonus. We found no provider rating to compare, but the structure supports it: wins depend heavily on the free spins, and the best outcomes need several symbols to line up across reels.
Max win and what it is worth in pounds
Play’n GO’s own page says the free spins can win up to 250,000 coins. It does not give a stake multiplier. OLBG and Casinomeister both give the maximum win as 5,000x the total stake, so we use 5,000x. OLBG puts the chance of reaching the maximum at about 1 in 3.75 million spins, a third party figure.
| Stake | Max win at 5,000x |
|---|---|
| 10p | £500 |
| £1 | £5,000 |
| £2 | £10,000 |
| £5 | £25,000 |
These are theoretical ceilings, not typical outcomes.
Free spins and multiple expanding symbols
Three or more scatter symbols anywhere on the reels start the bonus and pay 2x, 20x or 200x the total stake for 3, 4 or 5. Play’n GO calls the scatter the Tomb, which also acts as a wild, while OLBG calls it the Altar. Before the spins begin, a special expanding symbol is chosen at random. It expands when it lands and pays scatter style, so the symbols do not need to touch.
Each retrigger awards extra spins and adds another expanding symbol. OLBG says up to nine can be active, and Casinomeister says a long run could turn every symbol into an expanding one but warns that this will not happen often. Play’n GO describes the number of free spins as potentially unlimited.
Source conflict: OLBG’s overview and free spins section say the feature starts with 8 free spins, while its bonus features summary and Casinomeister both say 10. Play’n GO’s page does not give a number. We could not settle this from the sources, so check the rules screen at your casino.
Gamble feature
OLBG describes an optional gamble after a win: guessing the colour doubles the prize and guessing the suit multiplies it by four, up to five times in a row. Availability can differ by casino and region, so it may not appear in every UK version.
Symbols and paytable
These are OLBG’s reported payouts as multiples of the total stake.
| Symbol | 2 of a kind | 3 of a kind | 4 of a kind | 5 of a kind |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10, J, Q | None | 0.5x | 2x | 8x |
| K, A | None | 0.5x | 3x | 12x |
| Horus, Tutankhamen | 0.5x | 2x | 8x | 60x |
| Anubis | 0.5x | 3x | 30x | 160x |
| King | 1x | 10x | 100x | 500x |
| Tomb or Altar (wild and scatter) | None | 2x | 20x | 200x |
The King is the top symbol. OLBG’s text slips on the scatter counts at one point, saying 2, 3 or 4, but its own list and the other sources give 3, 4 or 5.
Hit frequency and win rate
No hit frequency is published for this game. OLBG lists it as not available and says this is true for all Play’n GO slots, and we found no independent measured figure, so we do not quote one. SlotPal’s hit rate guide covers Big Bass and Eye of Horus only, so there is nothing to compare here.
Legacy of Dead compared with Book of Dead
| Detail | Book of Dead | Legacy of Dead |
|---|---|---|
| Released | 14 January 2016 | 2 January 2020 |
| Top RTP | 96.21% | 96.58% |
| Max win | 5,000x | 5,000x |
| Expanding symbols | One per round | More added on retriggers |
| Volatility | Very high | Very high |
The extra RTP is a few tenths of a percentage point. The real difference is the layered bonus, which gives Legacy of Dead more upside inside a long feature.
Is Legacy of Dead enjoyable? Our verdict
This verdict is based on mechanics, provider rules and independent data. We have not played the game for money.
Legacy of Dead improves on the original idea without changing its character. The growing set of expanding symbols gives a long bonus a sense of building, which Book of Dead lacks. It also keeps the same weakness: long stretches without a feature, at very high volatility. It suits players who already like the Book of Dead format and want a little more going on inside the bonus. For anyone who wants frequent features or low swings, it is the wrong slot. Our verdict: a worthwhile variation, not a reinvention.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Layered feature with extra expanding symbols on retriggers
- Top RTP of 96.58% beats Book of Dead
- 5,000x maximum win
- Familiar rules for Book of Dead players
- Official release date confirmed by Play’n GO
Cons
- Very high volatility
- Lower RTP versions exist and are common
- Sources disagree on the starting free spins count
- No published hit frequency
- Same long dry spells as the original
Legacy of Dead FAQ
What is the RTP of Legacy of Dead?
The highest version is 96.58%. OLBG reports four lower versions down to 84.55%. UK casinos can use different settings, so check the game’s help screen.
Is Legacy of Dead high volatility?
Yes. OLBG rates it very high and Casinomeister calls the base game very volatile.
What is the maximum win on Legacy of Dead?
Third party reviews give 5,000x the total stake: £500 at 10p, £5,000 at £1, £10,000 at £2 and £25,000 at £5. Play’n GO quotes up to 250,000 coins.
How many free spins does Legacy of Dead give?
Sources conflict. OLBG says 8 in places and 10 in others, and Casinomeister says 10. Check the rules screen at your casino.
How do the expanding symbols work?
One symbol is chosen at random before the spins. Each retrigger adds another, and they pay scatter style so they need not touch.
What is the difference between Legacy of Dead and Book of Dead?
Legacy of Dead can have several expanding symbols at once, while Book of Dead has one per round. Legacy of Dead also has a slightly higher top RTP.
What stakes can UK players use?
From 10p. UK rules cap slot stakes at £2 for 18 to 24 year olds and £5 for those aged 25 and over.
Can the free spins retrigger?
Yes. Three or more scatters during the feature retrigger it, and Play’n GO describes the potential spins as unlimited.
What does the Tomb or Altar symbol do?
It is the wild and the scatter. It substitutes for other symbols and starts the free spins.
How often does Legacy of Dead pay?
No hit frequency is published, so we do not give a figure.
Is there a bonus buy?
None of the sources we read describe a bonus buy.
Why do sites disagree on details?
Mostly stake limits, RTP versions and a free spins count that two sources report differently. We name each conflict in the article.
How we checked the figures
- Release date, Tomb scatter and wild, expanding symbol and 250,000 coin top win: Play’n GO official game page.
- RTP versions, paytable, max win probability, gamble feature and the 8 versus 10 free spins wording: OLBG Legacy of Dead review (third party).
- Volatility, free spins count and retrigger rules: Casinomeister Legacy of Dead review (third party), whose section order this article loosely follows.
- Hit frequency: not officially published and not independently measured in the sources we read.
- UK stake limits: Gambling Commission rules as set out in the brief for this site.
- Play’n GO’s page did not state RTP, volatility or a stake multiplier for the max win.